UGA Chemistry and Northeast Georgia ACS Section Awards Night 2017

The UGA Chemistry Department presented its annual awards at the spring Alumni and Awards Banquet on Friday April 21, 2016 at the UGA Georgia Center. This banquet was held jointly between Chemistry and the Northeast Georgia Section of the ACS. Prof. Richard Morrison presented the awards for both the NEG-ACS and the Department of Chemistry.

UGA Chemistry Student Awards 2017

Pamela Ann Henkel Award – Awarded to the most outstanding undergraduate student in organic chemistry

Reza Kianian

Alfred W. Scott, Sr. Award – Awarded to the most outstanding rising senior ACS certified Chemistry major student

Ryan Bok

L.B. "Buck" Rogers Award – Awarded to the undergraduate student that performed the most outstanding research in Chemistry over the last year

Shaen Deimling

Martin Reynolds Smith Award – Awarded to the graduate student who published the best research paper in a refereed journal between January 1, 2016 and December 31, 2016

Melody Rhine-Walter

Kenneth W. Whitten Awards – Awarded to the graduate students who are judged to be our best Graduate Laboratory Assistants for this academic year

Matthew Bloodgood and Alex Reese

Outstanding Teaching Award Winners Awarded by the UGA Center for Teaching and Learning

Matthew Bloodgood, Grant Crane, Kevin Murphy, Brandon Rittgers, Xue Wang, Kasey Yearty



Samantha Benevides and Kaitlin Luedecke, Outstanding Undergraduate Students

Northeast Georgia Section of the American Chemical Society Awards 2017

NEGS-ACS Chemist of the Year for Service

Prof. Gary Douberly Department of Chemistry, UGA

NEG-ACS Chemist of the Year for Research

Dr. Joe B. Grubbs III Danimer Scientific (UGA Laboratory), Athens, GA

George Philbrook Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching

> **Dr. Douglas Jackson** Department of Chemistry, UGA

NEGS-ACS Award for Outstanding High School Teacher of the Year

Ms. Teena Garland Lake Oconee Academy High School, Greensboro, GA

NEGS-ACS Outstanding Graduate Student of the Year

Karson Brooks Department of Chemistry, UGA

NEGS-ACS Outstanding Undergraduate Student of the Year

Samantha Benevides and Kaitlin Luedecke Department of Chemistry, UGA



Karson Brooks (Outstanding Graduate Student) and Prof. Richard Morrison